New Dash Community Component: dashvis

Hello!

Inspired by visdcc, I have implemented & published a new Dash Component which does exactly the same thing - implements vis.js - but this time it implements the entire vis.js interface, as described in vis.js docs.

Here’s the project url: GitHub - lewkoo/dashvis: Dash Plotly implementation of vis.js library

Extensive usage examples, which cover all API calls, are provided too.

This project was implemented to gain access to all functionality of vis.js from Dash for our in-house project where we utilise vis.js.

I hope you’ll find it useful. This is my first time implementing a dash component or coding in React, so I am looking forward to any feedback, if you have the time.

Thanks!

3 Likes

Sounds great - do you have a link to dashvis?

Thanks, I forgot to include a link. I’ve added it to the original post.

Thank you for creating this component, @lewkoo . Congratulations on building your first Dash component. I added Dashvis to the growing list of community components :slight_smile:

@lewkoo This is intriguing.

As always, there are choices/options available, and one other option that I have historically thought of of when it comes to network/graph visualization in python, with Dash … is Dash Cytoscape (via cytoscape.js). (Noting further that in the javascript world choice extends even more broadly per options denoted in Graph Visualization Tools - Developer Guides)

I was wondering if you might have an opinion of why/when vis.js (and dashvis) vs other options.

thx in advance for any perspective.

1 Like

Cystoscape is a great component and I have considered using it for our project. I have never gone to great lengths to understand the differences fully and I might assume cystoscope can potentially achieve everything that vis.js can (at least when it comes to pure JavaScript implementation)