Tracing a variable

Hi Dash Community,

I just started learning how to make a Web App with Dash. Yet I have one question while reading the tutorial.
In the last example of the part 2 (https://plot.ly/dash/getting-started-part-2), we can change the available cities depending on the selected country, fair enough. Yet, I wonder if it is possible to remember the chosen options. For instance, if I select Cincinatti, then select Canada, then select back America, can Cincinatti be selected “by default”? I mean something similar to the “trace” method of tkinter variables.

Thanks for your answers!

Hey @Kefeng, welcome to Dash!

This is a great question. Most Dash apps don’t have a sense of “history” - their outputs are derived from exactly what you see on the page. This makes apps predictable in that you will always reach the same outputs no matter “how you got there”.

However, to solve this for this particular question, one solution would be to store the “history” of the app inside a hidden div (which ends up acting as a client-side session store) and reading from that when we switch options. Here’s an example:

import dash
from dash.dependencies import Input, Output, State
import dash_core_components as dcc
import dash_html_components as html
import json

app = dash.Dash()

options = {
    'America': ['NYC', 'Cincinatti'],
    'Canada': ['Montreal', 'Toronto'],
}

app.layout = html.Div([
    dcc.Dropdown(
        id='d1',
        options=[{'label': i, 'value': i} for i in options.keys()],
        value='Canada'
    ),
    dcc.Dropdown(
        id='d2'
    ),
    html.Div('{}', id='history', style={'display': 'none'})
])

@app.callback(Output('d2', 'options'), [Input('d1', 'value')])
def update_options(value):
    return [{'label': i, 'value': i} for i in options[value]]

@app.callback(Output('d2', 'value'),
              [Input('d2', 'options')],
              [State('d1', 'value'), State('history', 'children')])
def update_value(options, d1value, jhistory):