Show and tell: Sankey plot with dash

Hello!

Disclaimer: I’m quite new to Plotly Dash so please forgive my dodgey code!
Link to app on my github: https://github.com/CMonnin/job_search_pub
Link to app on Render (make take a min or two to load as I’m using the free Render: (https://job-search-2023.onrender.com)

I’m currently trying to change career path from bioanalytical chemist into a more tech-focused role. So I decided to track my job search progress with a dashboard (partly to distract me from what feels like a fruitless search :sweat_smile:)

What the app looks like

Data

I’ve removed the csv from the public repo. I’m using huntr.co to track job applications. This also allow you to export your data to a csv.
Data looks like this:

Title Company Created at List Source
Trading Application Support Analyst John Wiley & Sons May 19 2023, 08:22 am apply to linkedin
Computational Cancer Biologist Vevo Therapeutics May 19 2023, 07:00 am applied linkedin

So I read the csv into a pandas df and do some data cleaning (details on the my github if you’re interested). One step I do is simplify job titles so I can bin them together on a bar plot (see the jupyter notebook to as to why this was necessary).

# Creating category to simplify titles
df['Category'] = 'Other'
df.loc[df['Title'].str.contains('Data Scientist', case=False), 'Category'] = 'Data Scientist'
df.loc[df['Title'].str.contains('analyst', case=False), 'Category'] = 'Data Analyst'
df.loc[df['Title'].str.contains('Data engineer', case=False), 'Category'] = 'Data Engineer'
df.loc[df['Title'].str.contains('Python', case=False), 'Category'] = 'Python Dev'
df.loc[df['Title'].str.contains('Machine Learning', case=False), 'Category'] = 'ML Engineer'

Sankey figure

Next I want to prepare data for the Sankey plot. To do this I need to know how many jobs come from each source. So I do this for all the sources. Next I need to find how many I’ve been rejected from, how many I’ve gotten an interview for etc