"Loading..." when opening localhost

I’m completely new to plotly/dash, therefore likewise to the User Guide. I installed all dash and plotly related stuff as described. I copied the code, created app.py and let it run. Opening localhost on port 8050 as described doesn’t give me the simple Hello Dash example. All I see is a white window with “Loading…” at the top left corner.
I’m using python 2 with anaconda on Ubuntu 16.04.
I tried disabling ad-block as described in some forum, didn’t help.
I set the debug mode = False, didn’t help.
Re-installing and/or rebooting didn’t help.
Any suggestions? Thanks

The console output is:
$ python app.py

• Running on http://127.0.0.1:8050/ (Press CTRL+C to quit)
    127.0.0.1 - - [12/Dec/2017 16:58:25] “GET / HTTP/1.1” 200 -

@amitter - Could you open up your browser’s dev tools and look at the console? You’ll likely see an error message there.

I suspect that this is related to the JS assets from the CDN not loading properly - perhaps because they are blocked by your firewall or some other reason.

You can load the assets locally by setting:

app.scripts.config.serve_locally = True
app.css.config.serve_locally = True

anywhere in your code.

console output:

thanks, the local approach works.

1 Like

Hi,

I have the same Problem (Loading… on the top), but adding the two lines didn’t fix it.
I’m running python on Spyder with Anaconda.
Could you please help? Thanks

@chriddyp I’m also having the same issue and adding the two lines didn’t fix it for me as well. I’m on Mac OSX 10.12.6. I used to be able to run simple plotly dash pages just fine several months ago, but now I can’t get them to work. I also don’t see any console output or errors when I open the dev console. Any thoughts on how to debug this?