Install dash without plotly?

I wanted to know if there was a way to install dash without plotly ?
(Or alternatively, a minimal version of plotly - I will not be using any plotting features)

The package size is too large because of plotly.

I couldn’t find any post about it, so please redirect me if I am missing something.

1 Like

Hmm i think they are pretty well baked together. I guess you could try installing both then removing the individual dependencies but that’s just my non-tested guess.

Out of curiosity, can i ask why you only want dash without plotly?

dash has a plethora of features and community-made components (dbc, dmc) which are perfectly capable of making a non-data-based website. The most efficient way to do so? probably not, but its not that infeasible

I have made (and will continue to make) complex multi-page apps on Dash because I don’t really want to learn a js framework, as I am not a web developer, and it is so easy to do on Dash.

(will try and update you)

1 Like

I’m just thinking, but I don’t think that plotly goes onto the browser unless you use a dcc.Graph.

I think as long as you steer clear of that, you should be fine.

Hmm, but just uninstalling plotly results in the following traceback:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "main.py", line 1, in <module>
    import dash
  File "misc\lib\site-packages\dash\__init__.py", line 22, in <module>
    from ._callback import callback, clientside_callback  # noqa: F401,E402
  File "misc\lib\site-packages\dash\_callback.py", line 35, in <module>
    from .long_callback.managers import BaseLongCallbackManager
  File "misc\lib\site-packages\dash\long_callback\__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
    from .managers.celery_manager import (  # noqa: F401,E402
  File "misc\lib\site-packages\dash\long_callback\managers\celery_manager.py", line 5, in <module>
    from _plotly_utils.utils import PlotlyJSONEncoder
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named '_plotly_utils'

Try installing orjson