Custom css - referencing js

I am using ThemeSwitchAIO multipage app with FLATLY and DARKLY bootswatch themes. I want to make a small change to original theme css (change of secondary color) and load this customized css in my app.

If I reference the original theme from CDN link everything works great:
url_theme2 = “https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/npm/bootswatch@5.1.3/dist/darkly/bootstrap.min.css

If I reference the same css file from my assets folder (I also have the js folder with all the js files of dist 5.1.3 bootstrap.
url_theme2 = “assets/css/bootstrap.min.css”

I get and error:
(This error originated from the built-in JavaScript code that runs Dash apps. Click to see the full stack trace or open your browser’s console.)
/_dash-component-suites/dash/dash-renderer/build/dash_renderer.v2_6_0m1670189910.dev.js

TypeError: Cannot set properties of undefined (setting ‘href’)

I am pretty new to webapps so this might be basic question but why does referencing form CDN work without problems and I cannot load css locally? Where is js referenced from in case of external link and where in case of local reference? I tried to include external_scripts= and reference the js file in dash app but the error persist_

I have even published private npm package with has the same structure as original bootswatch npm package. I get an error with my package and no error with bootswatches.

Hello @davzup89,

This doesn’t work because of how the ThemeSwitch operates. It actually tries to pull the stylesheets from the app that matches the cdn pattern.

I have a thought on how to adjust this. But right now, you’ll have to just use the cdn versions.

Unless you want to just make your own.

Also, note that the asset folder is auto loaded, so the files would be auto applied.

Hey @jinnyzor! Thanks for your comment.

I actually created my own CDN but the error is still there. The last part follows the structure or original cdn (npm package)