Black Lives Matter. Please consider donating to Black Girls Code today.

Change hover text in Gantt chart

Hi Folks,

I’m new to plotly and struggling to get the hover text in my gantt chart to work the way I want.

Chart:
https://plot.ly/~jgraham0325/13/build-pipeline-timings-on-2017-11-21-and-2017-11-10/

Requirement:

• Show the duration of each section of the bar chart when hover over (or put a label on each one but that doesn’t seem as easy). It’s a bit hard to compare them without the actual number. By default it only shows the start time and the end time (as well as a lot of other stuff I don’t want like the y axis value name)

Environment:

• Python 2.7 using plotly api

Example of main processing function:

plot_data = []
query_job_date_1 = datetime.date(2017, 11, 21)
query_job_date_2 = datetime.date(2017, 11, 10)

create_plot_data(plot_data, query_job_date_1)
    create_plot_data(plot_data, query_job_date_2)

# Create gantt chart
    fig = ff.create_gantt(plot_data,
                          title='Build pipeline timings on {} and {}'.format(query_job_date_1.isoformat(), query_job_date_2.isoformat()),
                          showgrid_x=True,
                          index_col='JobName'
                          )
    fig['layout']['margin'] = go.Margin(l=285, r=10)
    py.plot(fig, filename='gantt-simple-gantt-chart-{}-to-{}'.format(query_job_date_1.isoformat(),query_job_date_2.isoformat()), world_readable=True)

Example of adding some data to the plot_data dictionary:

#Add to master dataset to plot. Task, Start and Finish are mandatory
task_display_name = job_display_name.replace(’[POC]’, ‘’).replace(’[A]’, ‘’).replace(’[B]’,’’) + ’ ’ + query_job_date.isoformat()
plot_data.append(dict(Task=task_display_name, Start=basetime, Finish=enddate, JobName=job_display_name))

Things I’ve tried:

• adding hoverinfo=“text” to “ff.create_gantt” method. It doesn’t accept it for gantt charts
  • add a “Text” element to my input data