My Dash tutorials look way different than in the docs. Should they?

I’m a seasoned back-end engineer, but I’m a newbie with browser-based GUI design (HTML, CSS, etc.). I need to build a dashboard and have found Dash. I’m just starting to work through the examples.

When I run the examples, my results look nothing like what is shown in the documentation. The documentation states that there can be small differences, but my differences are anything but small. For example, with one of the early table examples, my tables have no borders, background colors, etc. It seems to me that no styles are being applied. I’m wondering if what I’m getting is to be expected, or if something is wrong.

Take, for example, the first table example in Part 2 of the tutorial. Here’s what I get:

Yuck, right? This looks nothing like what is shown in the tutorial. What am I missing? I can’t believe that I should be getting something that looks so different than what’s in the docs and yet the docs don’t mention this.

I have looked in the Developer Tools Console in Chrome and I don’t see any errors suggesting that CSS files are failing to load, etc. I am working in PyCharm on a Mac. I’m copying/pasting the text as-is into an empty “app.py” file and running that file. I’ve tried both Chrome and Safari and have tried running from the command line. Same results all around.

Are my results wrong, or is it just my expectations that are flawed? If I should be getting better looking results, what might I be missing? How can I fix my results? TIA!

Welcome @Blatwurst

Indeed there is definitely is going wrong there. Can you copy paste your code here for us? You can wrap your code in three of the ` sign like so but remove the space between them

` ` `
Paste code here
` ` `

Also what is your folder structure and venv like? I assume you’re running a venv for your project. My first guess is you have some conflicts in some libraries.