Infinitesimal width of Bar in Plotly graph objects

Hi, I am new to Plotly. I have tried to plot data in the form of bar charts with the data coming from a Pandas Dataframe. The X-axis represents a datetime column and the Y-axis represents a numeric column. When there is data for a lot of dates, the plot is as expected, but if there is data for just a single day, then the width of the bar becomes really thin such that it is not visible in the plot and is only visible when zoomed in to that particular day(and hour). I have attached images for reference of the whole plot and zoomed in plot. The code I am using for plotting is given below:

fig.add_trace(go.Bar(name=i, x=df_dict['All'][i]['date'], y=df_dict['All'][i]['Volume'], marker_color =color_map[i],visible = True))

And I also use update layout for setting the bar width:

fig.update_layout(barmode='group',bargap = 0.2, autosize=True,xaxis_range=[start_date, end_date])

Image of the complete plot:

Image of the zoomed in plot:

Image of plot with multiple date entries:

If anyone has any idea as to why this is happening and how I can fix this, please let me know. Thanks.

2 Likes

Hi there!
Did you find a solution to this problem?
Coincidentally, I am facing the EXACT SAME issue!
Why isnโ€™t anyone paying attention to this?
Can anyone help??!?!??!!

Hi @surojit_b Hi @tuco
:wave: Welcome to the community. And thank you for your question.

Can you please share a minimal reproducible example, so we can run your code locally on our computer and try to figure it out?

1 Like

Hi @adamschroeder,

Hereโ€™s the minimal reproducible example you can try out:

import pandas as pd
import datetime
import plotly.graph_objects as go

start_date = datetime.date(2022,4,28)
end_date = datetime.date(2022,6,10)
#READ FULL DATA
df = pd.read_csv('example.csv',parse_dates=['date'])
#MASKED DATAFRAME WITH JUST 1 DATAPOINT
df1 = df[df['date'].isin([df['date'].unique()[-1]])]
#MASKED DATAFRAME WITH 2 DATAPOINTS