Image export socket timeout

Hi everyone, I’m pretty new to plotly and orca, please let me know if i’m missing something!

When I try to use the to_image() method, which returns an image as an encoded string I get this error:

ValueError:
The image request was rejected by the orca conversion utility
with the following error:
   522: client socket timeout

It is somewhat inconsistent. Sometimes there is no problem, sometimes it doesn’t work at all even if the image is exactly the same.

The chart I am trying to plot is a scattermapbox, with a polygon layer.

b0238d7-Living-clr_map

I am trying to do this from a controller function (I’m using web2py), to serve a view which contains the images.
The error is more likely to occur when I try the export from the controller. When I do it locally from a script it usually goes well (as you can see above).

Edit: (I’m using python 2.7)
Thanks

Hi @federicosilvestri,

I wonder if you’re running into the problem discussed in https://github.com/plotly/orca/issues/164#issuecomment-444454487. The first time you export an image the orca server process is launched, and plotly.py attempts to communicate with it for up to 8 seconds. But if the server process takes longer than that to start up the first time, then the export fails.

We’re going to increase this time threshold in significantly in the next release (3.5.0), but in the meantime you can try to manually give the server process extra time to warm up by adding this to the top of your script/notebook:

import plotly
import time
plotly.io.orca.ensure_server()
time.sleep(10)  # Give orca server an extra 10 seconds to warm up

-Jon

Hi @jmmease, thanks for your reply

I tried to give extra time but it didn’t work.

I run into this problem while generating a bunch of images: three are
regular scatterplots which have no problem, three are scattermapbox that give me this error.
I’ve tried manually launching the orca server on a port (8005) and setting
plotly.io.orca.config.port = 8005