How to define the Z argument for the create_annotated_heatmap() function?

Hi All,

I’m brand new to Plotly and Dash. I’m trying to create a heat map.

The docs at Heatmaps | Python | Plotly say that it’s possible to use the ff.create_annotated_heatmap() function, as follows:

import plotly.figure_factory as ff

z = [[.1, .3, .5],
     [1.0, .8, .6],
     [.6, .4, .2]]

x = ['Team A', 'Team B', 'Team C']
y = ['Game Three', 'Game Two', 'Game One']

z_text = [['Win', 'Lose', 'Win'],
          ['Lose', 'Lose', 'Win'],
          ['Win', 'Win', 'Lose']]

fig = ff.create_annotated_heatmap(z, x=x, y=y, annotation_text=z_text, colorscale='Viridis')
fig.show()

The first argument, data, seems to be a list of lists.

My data looks as follows:

df = pd.DataFrame({'Make':['Ford', 'Ford', 'Ford', 'Buick', 'Buick', 'Buick', 'Mercedes', 'Mercedes', 'Mercedes'],
                          'Score':['88.6', '76.6', '86.2', '79.1', '86.8', '96.4', '97.3', '98.7', '98.5'],
                          'Dimension':['Speed', 'MPG', 'Styling', 'Speed', 'MPG', 'Styling', 'Speed', 'MPG', 'Styling'],
                          'Month':['Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19', 'Apr-19']})

And, my code is as follows:

ford_scores = df[(df['Make'].isin(['Ford']))]['Score'].astype(float).tolist()
buick_scores = df[(df['Make'].isin(['Buick']))]['Score'].astype(float).tolist()
mercedes_scores = df[(df['Make'].isin(['Mercedes']))]['Score'].astype(float).tolist()

fig = ff.create_annotated_heatmap(
            z=[ford_scores, buick_scores, mercedes_scores],
            x=df['Dimension'].unique().tolist(),
            y=df['Make'].unique().tolist(),
            colorscale=['red', 'orange', 'yellow', 'green'],
            hoverongaps=False
            )

fig.show()

This code works, but it breaks down spectacularly when the values in the Make column are something other than “Ford”, “Buick” or “Mercedes” (or if the number of elements increases or decreases).