Heatmap performance, layout, and related questions

I’m new to Dash. I’m trying to set up an interactive system for analyzing large amount of data. I run into trouble using heatmaps.

Some of the heatmaps I want to display are large (say, ~6000 * 6000 data points). Sure, this is beyond the resolution of the (4K) screen, but it allows zooming into areas of interest. The data is available in a Pandas data frame (data type is float32).

Issues:

1. Low Performance

Trying to simply display the data using Heatmap(x=frame.columns, y=frame.index, z=frame.values) takes a long time. At first, it took >10 minutes, after which I gave up on waiting. I reduced this to “only” around half a minute when I specified zsmooth=False.

Does the backend try to smooth/resample the data to match the displayed size on the browser? That sounds strange, the full data still needs to be sent to the browser to allow for zooming and panning. Also, even if the code does some smoothing, it seems to be extremely inefficient. Applying a convolution to a 6000 * 6000 matrix shouldn’t take even a second on a CPU that can execute a few billions instructions per second.

I am using the built-in “debug” server, but that shouldn’t matter that much. I would expect that it would make a big difference when handling a lot of parallel requests etc., but for a single request single user scenario, using a “debug” server shouldn’t matter… right?

I tried using Heatmapgl and that didn’t solve any of the issues. It did however lose the axis labels. I never had good experience with Heatmapgl even in the offline mode so I gave up on it.

Is a 6000 * 6000 entries heatmap simply a lost cause in Dash+Plotly? If so, what is the alternative for showing large raw matrix data?

1. I Can’t trust what I see