Dash server crashing in debug mode when errors are encountered

Hi,
I am quite new to Dash, and I was previously using streamlit. When there are any errors in the code, while debugging, the server crashes rather than to just display the error, and it takes a LOT more time for me to restart the server after fixing it. And since I’m new, I do a lot of trial and error, and it is really cumbersome to wait till the server reloads and then crashes again due to an error. Is this a normal behaviour of dash or should I opt for a different configuration. I am currently running it as a python file in vs studio code
I also tried app.run_server(port="8052",debug=True, use_reloader = False)
but this doesn’t reflect any of the changes I am making.

Hello @ak3000,

Welcome to the community!

Changes that you make to the app during runtime should update, if you have use_reloader not provided, as the default is True.

Could you please provide a little more info about your setup?

Dash version, flask version, maybe just provide a pip freeze and give the details here.

Typically, the sever wont completely crash unless you are running into a syntax error or an uninstalled library (this normally only happens when not in debug mode). I’d try taking out the use_reloader=False and see if this issue goes away.

2 Likes

Ah my problem is syntax errors, but the server ends up crashing while I am making the edits, before I realize that I’ve made an error

1 Like

What exactly takes a long time? Do you develop your tools locally? Personally, my apps start up in a few seconds on my laptop. Also, when working in Pycharm and when there is a SyntaxError, while the app is running, it will display the error in the run terminal in Pycharm.

Are you using very large Python libraries that take a long time to load, e.g. icevision, pytorch or other ML libraries?