Creating a Bubble Chart with Dash

I’m very new to Plotly, Dash, and Python in general, and I’m trying to create a Bubble Chart with Dash. I’ve found references on how to create Bubble Charts with Plotly not Dash. I’m looking for a template or references that could help with this task. Again, I am a true beginner, so I apologize if this is actually very simple. Thanks!

By the way, bubble charts are basically scatter plots with the markers’ sizes dependent on specified weights.

Hey @rschutte

Creating bubble charts in Dash and plotly.py are one and the same. That is, Dash uses the plotly.py graphing library. Thus, you can follow the examples from here https://plot.ly/python/bubble-charts/. Here is one to get you started:

import dash
from dash.dependencies import Input, Output
import dash_html_components as html
import dash_core_components as dcc

app = dash.Dash(__name__)

size = [20, 40, 60, 80, 100, 80, 60, 40, 20, 40]

app.layout = html.Div([
    dcc.Graph(
        id='scatter',
        figure={
            'data': [{
                'x':[1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10],
                'y':[11, 12, 10, 11, 12, 11, 12, 13, 12, 11],
                'mode':'markers',
                'marker':{
                    'size':size,
                    'sizemode':'area',
                    'sizeref':2.*max(size)/(40.**2),
                    'sizemin':4
                }
            }]
        })
])

if __name__ == '__main__':
    app.run_server(debug=True)

If you’re not sure what attribute does what :confused: then check out the full reference, which can be found here https://plot.ly/python/reference/

Hope this helps get you started!