Cannot get newPlot to work on empty <div> in plotly.js

I am able to successfully use newPlot one time (after emptying a div in which I had a plot created using Ploty.plot), but cannot seem to get newPlot working subsequent times! I am new to Javascript/jQuery and receiving no support for it at work, so any help would be appreciated!

I am currently calling .empty() on the div containing my plot, then calling Plotly.newPlot on it - the div is emptied, but no new plot appears!

Thanks for trying out plotly.js!

Can you share a code snippet of what you attempted to help us debug? Thanks in advance.

Many thanks for your reply!

I am coding a tool that is being deployed to a div in an existing visualisation framework, so my code is not written in the classic html, css, js file structure.

To plot my plotly plots (scatter3d), I have written two jQuery plugins: one that calls Plotly.plot() and another that calls Plotly.newPlot(). The following is the code for the plugin calling Plotly.plot():

(function($) {
	$.scatterPlot = function(el, data, layout, options) {
    	var _this = this;
    	this.el = el;
    	this.$el = $(el);
    	this.$el.data("scatterPlot", this);
    	this.init = function() {
			_this.$el.addClass('scatterPlot');
			Plotly.plot(_this.el, data, layout);
    		return _this;
		};
		return this.init();
	};
	$.fn.scatterPlot = function(data, layout, options) {
		return $.each(this, function(i, el) {
			var $el, instanceOptions;
			$el = $(el);
			if (!$el.data('scatterPlot')) {
				instanceOptions = $.extend({}, options, $el.data());
        		return $el.data('scatterPlot', new $.scatterPlot(el, data, layout, instanceOptions));
      		}
		});
	};
	return void 0;
})(jQuery);

The second plugin is exactly the same, except it calls Plotly.newPlot(), and is called $.reScatterPlot().

The following is from my main code, which calls these two functions:

var dataObj = jQuery.parseJSON(str);
if (dataObj.status == true) {