Callbacks with a drop down with multi select

Hi, I am somewhat new to Dash and I was wondering if someone can help out. I am currently trying to build a dashboard and I have been struggling for past 4 hours with how to do callbacks where you can do a dropdown where you can have multiple selection.

I basically want to plot in an overlayed bar graph the data stored in a panda dataframe. Here is what the code looks like.

I pull the data from a local server so ignore this

df = pd.read_html()

app.layout = html.Div([
dcc.Graph(id=‘id-graph’),
dcc.Dropdown(id=‘id-dropdown’,options = [{‘label’:i} for i in df[“Machine”].values],
multi=True, value=)])

##For every value, I will have to find the corresponding info in the table and return it for plot

@app.callback(
dash.dependencies.Output(‘id-graph’, ‘figure’),
[dash.dependencies.Input(‘id-dropdown’, ‘value’)])
def update_graph(values):
# prepare figure_a from value
if values == :
values = df[“Value”].values[0]
for val in values:
df_plot = df[df[‘Value’] == val]

## Basically here, I want to get the values that are selected in the dropdown
        ## Add them to a trace where I plot the bars, and return the figure containing them

if name == ‘main’:
app.run_server(debug = True)

Thanks for the help in advance, I did all the user guide and still couldn’t come across something that solved my issue

1 Like

The closest thing I can think of is a dropdown with multi=True. You still have to select one element at a time from the dropdown, but you can select multiple values and they’ll appear in the dropdown field as selected (and with a ‘x’ to delete them if you need to). You can check the section on ‘Multi-Value Dropdown’ here:

https://dash.plot.ly/dash-core-components/dropdown

My multi dropdown look like this:

dcc.Dropdown(
                id='your-dropdown-id',
                options=[{'label': i, 'value': i} for i in variable_name],
                value= variable_name,
                multi=True,
            ),
1 Like