Authorized use and Security for data and visualizations

I am new to Dash and Plotly, so forgive me if this is in the wrong forum.

I have just started learning Dash and Plotly, and I am very impressed. I work as a BI architect consulting for a leading commercial product which is very expensive to deploy. I think my small firm needs to offer a more economical solution for visualizations and BI. I have the expectation that Dash and Plotly will do this.

One topic that I have not been able to determine is how to implement security.

Is there a reference to this? Or can anyone give me a high level, brief summary of it? The types of companies I work for are medium to small businesses that want to deploy dashboards to their operational units: retail store managers, department managers in various cities, managers in remote locations, that sort of thing.

I have seen the authentication routines referenced in the documentation, but I have not had the time yet to go into them in-depth nor to build any webpages to play around with security. Plus the routines are at a very detailed level and do not seem to indicate an overall approach to security. I could be wrong on this and may have missed some reference info.

What I have gathered is that iframes may not be a secure way to deploy visualizations.

I am not looking for a detailed answer on this or instructions on how to implement security. I am simply seeking some guidance on where to start and to assure myself and my boss that Dash and Plotly can securely deploy dashboards for the types of users I described above.

Thanks for any help and thoughts.

James

On the open-source side, dash_auth supports HTTP basic auth (as well as plot.ly credentials but this part is deprecated), and the approach is fairly straightforward:

• Wrap all requests to the dash server with a routine that checks the headers for appropriate credentials
  • The headers are checked against a predefined set of username/password combinations