Apply dropdown menu value to only certain traces

I’m new to plotly, so bear with me. I’m using plotly offline in Python. I’ve made a plot which shows four lines at a time. Two of those lines are fixed; the other two are based on the value chosen in a dropdown menu. I got this to work by setting

visible = [True, True] + [(True if j==i else False) for j in range(n)]*2

when specifying the visibility applied to the traces for menu option i. Here n is the number of options for the other two lines. This works because I’m setting the visibilities of lines (lineA, lineB, lineC1, lineC2, lineC3, lineD1, lineD2, lineD3), so that when option i=1 is chosen, (lineA, lineB, lineC1, lineD1) are visible.

What I want to do next is to plot three lines at a time, but where only one is constant. So now I’m in the case where the lines are (lineA, lineB1, lineB2, lineB3, lineC1, lineC2), and I want to control the B and C lines through separate dropdown menus. How can I do this? How do I tell a dropdown menu to only apply to certain traces? (This would also simplify my first plot, which I feel was an inelegant solution.) I feel like this should have something to do with controlling the menu’s callbacks, but I haven’t had much luck in finding a tutorial on that.

(PS: I know that this can be done through a single dropdown menu by going over all possible combinations of (A,B1,C1), (A,B1,C2), ... but the number of lines I have is 10 for B and 7 for C.)

Hi @jareth.holt

It would be much easier to answer if you’d have a code example!
By the way, have you considered to use ipywidgets ?

BR, Alex

Hi there again,

Im not sure I understand fully what you wanted to achieve but I have kind of a solution here with ipywidgets:

import plotly.graph_objs as go
import ipywidgets as widgets
import numpy as np

fig = go.FigureWidget()

fig.add_scatter(y=np.random.randn(10),name='lineA')

numofB = 10
numofC = 7

for name in ['lineB'+str(i) for i in range(1,numofB+1)]: