Add New Polygon to Dash Leaflet Map via a Callback

Im very new to working with GIS data (using Dash Leaflet and GeoPandas) and am currently stumped.

My goal is to create a simple app which does the following:

• App starts with an empty dash_leaflet.Map() figure and a numeric input box titled “Buffer Distance” (with a default of 100)
  • User draws a polygon on the map which fires a callback
  • Callback takes in the GeoJSON data from the map and the “buffer distance”
  • Use Geopandas to import the GeoJSON data and create a new polygon which is smaller than the user drawn polygon by “Buffer Distance”
  • Pass these 2 polygons (originally drawn & post processed polygon with buffer) back to the map so that both are now displayed on the map

Im having trouble with the last step of pushing the two polygons back the map via some kind of Output

This is the app i am currently working with:

import pandas as pd
from dash import Dash, dcc, html, Input, Output, State
import dash_leaflet as dl
import geopandas as gpd

lat1, lon1 = 36.215487, -81.674006

app = Dash()

input_details = html.Div([
    html.Div([
        html.Div(['Buffer Distance'], style={'width': '37%', 'display': 'inline-block'}),
        dcc.Input(
            value=100,
            id="buffer-distance",
            type='number',
            placeholder='Required',
        ),
    ]),
])

default_map_children = [
    dl.TileLayer(),
    dl.FeatureGroup([
        dl.EditControl(id="edit_control"),
    ]),
    dl.GeoJSON(id='map-geojsons')
]

map_input_results_tab = html.Div(
    [
        html.H2('Add Shapes to Map an Area of Interest'),
        dl.Map(
            id='leaflet-map',
            style={'width': '100%', 'height': '50vh'},
            center=[lat1, lon1],
            zoom=16,
            children=default_map_children
        )
    ])

app.layout = html.Div([input_details, map_input_results_tab])

@app.callback(
    Output('map-geojsons', 'data'),
    Input('edit_control', 'geojson'),