Way to build one set of html code and reuse multiple time

I am new to Dash and Python, so I am not sure if I am asking this question in the right way.

In some other programming languages, I could build a function, a stored proc, or another file of HTML code. This code then be loaded into a bigger file or web page.

For example, if I had a static section at the bottom of a web page, like the section at the bottom that always has copyright statement, a contact ling etc., I could put all of the html code into a separate function, a stored proc, or another file. Then on every web page, I could include this, and when the web page was executed, the code in my separate “container” would be placed into the web page and executed as if I had typed it out manually.

A simple example would be that if this is my code:

html.Div([
html.H1(‘Sample Title’),
html.P(‘Sample Text’)
])

I would like to do something like this

variable = html.Div([
html.H1(‘Sample Title’),
html.P(‘Sample Text’)
])

Then use the variable to insert the code in the appropriate spot on multiple pages.

Is there a way to do something similar in Dash Plotly?

I have looked at a def statement, and putting the code into a function. I am not sure how to "execute’ this function, if that is the way to do this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Hi @Jfrick100 , it looks like you’re looking for ways to re-use code in Python. If you’re using a function, your function should return objects (variables) which you can use elsewhere. You can also define variables and functions in other python files (modules) which you import (like when you import a 3rd party package, but here with you own modules). See for example https://scipy-lectures.org/intro/language/reusing_code.html

Emmanuelle,

I may have asked this incorrectly. I do know about modules, functions etc. and can import them and use them in other .py files. I also appreciate the link you sent. It covered a few areas I did not know about.