Using multiple processors for single callback with gunicorn

I have an application hosted on a web server with gunicorn. One of the callbacks is more demanding than the others by a long shot (it’s a semi empirical quantum chemistry calculation). On my M1 chip mac, it runs quite fast in my developer environment (1 second) but hosting it has a severe slow down.

I’ve been changing the workers and threads options on gunicorn with no luck. I’m using the free tier of onrender.com. Installing the packages with a requirements.txt then starting server with:

gunicorn —workers=2 —worker-class=gthread —threads=16 —timeout=120 chdir sec index:server

I’m new to web hosting so maybe this request isn’t reasonable (essentially multithreading/processing each callback). Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Hello @venturellac,

What load balancer do you use?

Gunincorn in and of itself wouldnt be able to differentiate this type of need.

1 Like

I am using diskcache as the load balancer to start the app like:

import dash
import dash_bootstrap_components as dbc

from flask import Flask
import dash_auth

from dash.long_callback import DiskcacheLongCallbackManager
import diskcache

cache = diskcache.Cache("./cache")
long_callback_manager = DiskcacheLongCallbackManager(cache)

VALID_USERNAME_PASSWORD_PAIRS = {}

app = dash.Dash(__name__, 
                external_stylesheets=[dbc.themes.BOOTSTRAP], 
                meta_tags=[{"name": "viewport", "content": "width=device-width"}],
                suppress_callback_exceptions=True,
                long_callback_manager=long_callback_manager)
server = app.server
auth = dash_auth.BasicAuth(
    app,
    VALID_USERNAME_PASSWORD_PAIRS
)

If this type of app can’t be easily scaled on a simple/freetier webhosting, what options are there for running a callback on multiple cores like my developer environment?

@venturellac,

That’s not really a load balancer, that is a background process manager.