Specify title position

Hi all,

I’m quite new to using plotly, and I want to reduce the amount of whitespace between my title and the actual plot itself. I can’t seem to find any way to do it. Is there a way to adjust this?

Thanks,

Harry T

trace1 = py.graph_objs.Bar(
x = df_station_counts[‘stype_code’],
y = df_station_counts[‘diversion_percentage’],

marker = dict(
    color = 'blue',
    ),
hoverinfo = 'y',
opacity = 0.8

)

data = [trace1]

layout = py.graph_objs.Layout(
barmode = ‘group’,
autosize = False,
width = 2000,
height = 1000,
margin = dict(b = 100,),
title = ’ diversion fraction by station’,
titlefont = dict(size = 40),
xaxis=dict(
title = ’
station’,
titlefont = dict(
size = 30),
tickfont=dict(
size=20,

),
        tickangle = 90,

),
    yaxis=dict(
        title  = 'diversion percentage / %',
        titlefont = dict(
            size = 30),
        tickfont=dict(
            size=20,

),
        hoverformat = '.2f',

),

)

fig = py.graph_objs.Figure(data=data, layout=layout)
py.offline.iplot(fig)

Have you tried lowering the top margin value (in margin.t)?

hi @etienne

I tried doing this however it didnt seemt to change the distance between the title and the plot, it just changed the amount of whitespace above the title. I was able to get around the problem by adding in a line break at the start of the title.

Thanks,

Harry

How to position the title directly above the chart (independently of margin):

fig.update_layout(
  title={
    "yref": "paper",
    "y" : 1,
    "yanchor" : "bottom"   
  }
)

(Or specify the same thing in go.Layout)

How does it work?

• yref is used to position the title relative to the actual chart ("paper") and not the container (which would be "container")
  • y is a value between 0 and 1 which sets the relative position. Setting it to 1 will put the title at the top of the chart; setting it to 0 will put the title at the bottom of the chart etc.