Show and Tell: Dash Multipage structure w/ individual folders for apps and automated importing/routing

Hi All,

I’ve been using dash for a few years to Dashboard data (and trying to pickup python along the way!). I have a server that is serving dozens of individual ‘apps’ from a single index (as shown in the example see URL Routing and Multiple Apps | Dash for Python Documentation | Plotly under “Structuring a Multi-Page App” section). The general structure is like this example:

- app.py
- index.py
- apps
   |-- __init__.py
   |-- app1.py
   |-- app2.py

and using the index example:

import dash_core_components as dcc
import dash_html_components as html
from dash.dependencies import Input, Output

from app import app
from apps import app1, app2

app.layout = html.Div([
    dcc.Location(id='url', refresh=False),
    html.Div(id='page-content')
])

@app.callback(Output('page-content', 'children'),
              Input('url', 'pathname'))
def display_page(pathname):
    if pathname == '/apps/app1':
        return app1.layout
    elif pathname == '/apps/app2':
        return app2.layout
    else:
        return '404'

if __name__ == '__main__':
    app.run_server(debug=True)

While this structure worked well as I was starting, now that I have ballooned to dozens of apps, maintaining is getting kind of tedious. If I add a new app, I have to update the index.py import list and the layout routing/handling. Also, if a single app isn’t working, the whole server won’t load. The local data sources have also gotten very ugly as there is no folders tied to each app.

I want to restructure the dashboard and could use some advice/feedback on this structure. Some things I want from the new structure:

• Each app will have its own folder, to hold dashboard and data files
  • Layout and callbacks will be in separate files in their app folder