Issues switching from .callback to .long_callback

Hello all!

I am new to Dash/Plotly but I’ve run into this error I can’t wrap my head around and am looking for some assistance. I have a fully functional dash script with a certain callback that is called when a ‘run’ button is clicked, and I am trying to change this to a long_callback in order to have a cancel button and progress bar. I have all the packages, caches, managers set up properly because I can run all the examples from the long_callback page, however when I change “callback” to “long_callback” in my own script, I am getting weird errors.

For example, (without getting into too many details just yet) there is one line: if 'Generic Table' in tables_to_compute:, where tables_to_compute=[‘Generic Table’]. With long_callback, I get the error "TypeError: argument of type ‘int’ is not iterable’, however there is no problem with the regular ‘callback’. If helpful, I can share more code.

I suppose there are two questions: (1) what is going on here? and (2) when switching from callbacks to long_callbacks, are there structural changes in the actual function contents that have to made to accommodate this switch?

Thanks!

Hi,

Welcome to the community!

It would be very helpful if you share your callback or a minimal reproducible error.

Of course!

Here is my code that works:

import webbrowser
import diskcache

from threading import Timer
from dash import Dash, dcc, html, Input, Output, State
from dash.long_callback import DiskcacheLongCallbackManager

cache=diskcache.Cache("./cache")
long_callback_manager=DiskcacheLongCallbackManager(cache)

list_of_tables=[['Generic Table',['Table Columns']]]

app = Dash(__name__)

app.layout = html.Div([
    dcc.Checklist([table[0] for table in list_of_tables],id='table checklist'),
    html.H3(children='Run simulation: '),
    html.Button(id='run simulation button',n_clicks=0,children='Run'),
    html.Div(id='my-output'),
])

@app.callback(