How to get plotly to use the set locale

Hi there,

Iā€™m an absolute beginner when it comes to plotly and Iā€™m stuck - I hope someone can help me.

I canā€™t for the life of me get plotly to respect the locale I set. Everything is always in English (including number formats).

Iā€™m using locale.setlocale(locale.LC_ALL, '') to set the locale, but plotly doesnā€™t seem to care. (I know it works in general, as printing the current weekday comes out in my local language. Just all my plots are still in English.)
I know about this: https://github.com/d3/d3-time-format/blob/master/README.md#locale_format
But all the specifiers that should produce something local (like %a) just come out as English in the chart.

So the question is: how can I get plotly to use the locally appropriate language and number formats?

Please help me, I feel like an idiot, getting stuck at something so basic!
Thanks for your help.

Hi @FLudwig,

This is an example that works:

import pandas as pd
import numpy as np
import plotly.graph_objs as go
from datetime import datetime
import locale

#Get information on the actual locale setting:

print(locale.getlocale())
('en_US', 'UTF-8')

#Set locale for another country:

locale.setlocale(locale.LC_TIME, 'de_DE') # this sets the date time formats to Germany; there are many other options for currency, numbers etc. 
#for any other locale settings see: https://docs.python.org/3/library/locale.html

d = {'date': [datetime(2020, k, 15).strftime('%d  %B, %Y') for k in range(2,7)],
      'A': np.random.rand(5)}
df=pd.DataFrame(d)
print(df)

fig = go.Figure(go.Scatter(x=df['date'], y=df['A']))
fig.show()

Youā€™ll see that the dataframe is displayed like this:

date         A
0  15  Februar, 2020  0.541385
1     15  MƤrz, 2020  0.889526
2    15  April, 2020  0.453590
3      15  Mai, 2020  0.635907
4     15  Juni, 2020  0.368840

Hence, just replace ā€˜de_DEā€™ with your locale.

Hi empet,