How to configure du.configure_upload() in dash_uploader for dash multi page apps

I’m a beginner from non computer science background. it’s a silly query

I’m trying to create a multipage dash app following this tutorial code . Dash-by-Plotly/Dash_More_Advanced_Shit/Intro to Python multipage/App-A at master · Coding-with-Adam/Dash-by-Plotly · GitHub.

Previous I’ve created dash application to take input as excel and do some merge - i’m using dash uploader for the same. ( not dcc.upload).

When i moved the app code to page3, i’m struck with error: Exception: The du.configure_upload must be called before the @du.callback can be used! Please, configure the dash-uploader.

Please help. :pray:

hey @yathav
I’m not sure yet if this is a Dash Pages thing or more related to a bug in Dash Uploader. I noticed Dash Uploader hasn’t made a commit in a while.

Related:

Hey @yathav,

I found a way to get dash-uploader working in a Dash Multipage App. In the pages section, you will need to add du.configure_upload(dash.get_app(), r’file_path’) where dash.get_app() calls back the app you defined in the app.py file. This will avoid any circular referencing from Dash. Depending on your packaging module version, you might or might not run into an error. If you do run into an error on AttributeError: module ‘packaging.version’ has no attribute ‘LegacyVersion’, try pip install packaging==21.3. This worked for me

2 Likes

thank you so much. the issue is resolved

1 Like

thanks. when i tried to create a new page which uses dash uploader. i got an error. [AssertionError: View function mapping is overwriting an existing endpoint function: get ] . please help

Hey @yathav, do you mind giving some more context on what you are trying to do?

I’m create a multi-page dash app. each page itself a micro app where it performs an task based on user input. usually user input will be excel file(s).

page-2 performs an operation based on input excel