Help with simple bar chart with callback

Hello - Im having trouble with a very simple callback where I would like the months on the x axis and a count of each month for the y axis (and filtering by category in a dropdown)

I’m pretty new to dash/plotly so bare with me.

app = dash.Dash(__name__, external_stylesheets=external_stylesheets)

app.layout = html.Div([

html.Div([
    dcc.Dropdown(
        id='category-dropdown',
        options=[{'label': i, 'value': i} for i in categories],
        value='cars',
    )
], className='four columns'),

### for some reason I need to add text after dropdown otherwise it is hidden
html.H3(
    children='Categories by Month',
    style={
        'textAlign': 'center',
    }
),

html.Div([
    dcc.Graph(id='category-graph'),
], className='row')
])

@app.callback(
    Output('category-graph', 'figure'),
    [Input('category-dropdown', 'value')])
 def update_graph(category_dropdown_name):
dff = df[df['category' == category_dropdown_name]]

return {
    'data': [dict(
        x=dff['months'].unique(),
        y=dff['months'],  # .value_counts().sort_index().reindex(months, fill_value=0),
       # i would like to get a count for each month (i tried to do a value count which seems to work on a 
         normal graph but not in a callback

type='bar',
    )]
}

if __name__ == '__main__':
    app.run_server(debug=True)

A histogram should do this for you. refer to this post on how to do it but if you need anything else explained don’t hesitate to ask! Welcome to the community by the way! Hope all goes well in your project!

Thanks for the quick reply! Still having some trouble and not sure if the callback is the reason. Is this what it should look like?

@app.callback(
        Output('category-graph', 'figure'),
        [Input('category-dropdown', 'value')])
def update_figure(category_dropdown_name):
    fig = go.Figure()
    fig.add_trace(go.Histogram(histfunc="count",  x=dff['month']))
    return fig