DataTable with Bootstrap styling issues with dropdowns

I am using DataTable and Bootstrap (dash_bootstrap_components with SANDSTONE theme), and I am having some css issues with the display of dropdowns in the DataTable.

Originally, the dropdown menu would not appear when the cell was clicked, but I was able to fix this issue by adding a css parameter to the DataTable (css=[{“selector”: “.Select-menu-outer”, “rule”: “display: block !important”}]) as described here: [RESOLVED] Dropdown options in Datatable not showing? - #6 by vivekvs1

The other issue I am having is that the drop-down arrow is overlapping the content of my cell:

DataTable_dropdown_arrow

Notice how the arrow appears over top of the “false”. I am not a css expert, and cannot figure out how to fix this problem. Is there a way to solve this? Or a way to avoid conflicts with bootstrap styling altogether?

Thanks,
Susan

Hi @Susan and welcome to the Dash community :slight_smile:

Could you please try upgrading to the most recent version of Dash (2.1.0) I think this was fixed recently.

If that doesn’t fix the issue, could you please provide a minimal reproducible example, because I can’t duplicate it on my end.

I have installed dash 2.10 and dash-bootstrap-components 1.0.2. Both problems still exist (dropdown doesn’t appear, and the arrow overlaps the cell contents).

import dash_bootstrap_components as dbc
from dash import Dash, dash_table, html

app = Dash(
    __name__,
    external_stylesheets=[
        dbc.themes.SANDSTONE,  # Bootstrap theme
    ],
)

app.layout = html.Div(
    dash_table.DataTable(
        id="test",
        data=[
            {"greeting": "hello", "bool_value": True},
            {"greeting": "world", "bool_value": False},
        ],
        columns=[
            {"name": "greeting", "id": "greeting"},
            {"name": "bool_value", "id": "bool_value", "editable": True, "presentation": "dropdown"},
        ],
        dropdown={
            "bool_value": {