Dash app crashes when trying to display more than 2-3 charts with a larger dataset, despite trying different callbacks and reducing dataset size, seeking advice on how to optimize code to handle larger datasets

Hello everyone,

I’m new to programming and currently learning how to use Dash and Python to build a web application. I’ve been working on a project to build a dashboard that displays 5-6 charts populated with data from a CSV file.

The app works fine with smaller datasets of around 100 rows, but when I increase the size of the dataset, the app crashes when trying to display more than 2-3 charts. The callback that paints the figures skyrockets from around 100-200ms with 2 charts to more than 5000ms when I add 1 more chart, and it keeps increasing until the app crashes.

I’ve tried setting 1 callback for all the charts, as well as an individual callback for each chart, but this did not change anything. I’ve also tried reducing the dataset, and this works. However, I was hoping to handle around 5k rows, and the current limit of around 200 rows is not sufficient.

It seems that at the initial stage of loading and painting more than 200 rows, the app staggers so much that it eventually crashes. I could increase the interval time to 2-3 seconds, but 1 second is already the maximum I’m willing to accept.

My main callback that staggers at the initial load looks like this.

#main callback

@app.callback(
            Output("candles", "figure"),
            Output("stock_name", "children"),
            Output("latest_price", "children"),
            Output("latest_price_change", "children"), 
            Output("latest_price_change", "style"),

#Output("stocks3", "figure"),
            #Output("stock_name3", "children"),
            #Output("latest_price3", "children"),
            #Output("latest_price_change3", "children"), 
            #Output("latest_price_change3", "style"),

Input("interval", "n_intervals"),
            Input('zoom_store', 'data'),