Converting NetworkX Graph object into Cytoscape format

I am fairly new to Dash, I am attempting to work with Dash and maybe Cytoscape, which looks very useful. I am trying to use data from a csv file which is formatted similar to this:

Where the columns and the first row (or index) are the names, a value of one or more indicates an edge between the two corresponding nodes, and the number indicates the weight. I can create a graph quite easily with this type of data with Networkx and Dash.

My questions are the following:
I’ve read around the forums/github issues and noticed there is no direct compatibility with networkx objects and Cytoscape. To be able to do this i’d have to manually convert, using something like nx.readwrite.json_graph.cytoscape_data() Can anybody who has done this provide additional detail on how to fully get there?

I managed to plot my networks using Dash before I learned about Dash Cytoscape. My end goal is to make a simple website that displays these visualizations (with thousands of nodes) in an interactive, user friendly manner. What exactly does Dash Cytoscape add to the picture, and would it be crucial or should I perhaps ultimately not use Cytoscape?

I’m fairly new to all of this if it all sounds like beginner stuff, but really looking forward to learning about it! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I am fairly new to Dash-Cytoscape as well, but I have managed to make this work.

The trick is to get all of the things in your elements list that you need to be in there before worrying about Cytoscape at all. The big kicker is that converting a NetworkX graph to Cytoscape format is not exactly solid. Some of the variables will not make it in there and some dictionary keys do not line up properly. So it won’t just work out of the box. But if you are willing to do some munging, you can make it happen.

So suppose you have some graph, G, created with some command like G=nx.Graph(). The steps you need to do are:

1. Create your graph