Add lines to 3D surface

I am a newbie to Plotly. Is there a way to draw data lines on top of a 3D surface graph. I have managed to draw the graph but cannot figure out how to add lines to it (I have attached the target image). Kindly help. This is my code and dataset.

#!/usr/bin/env python
#import plotly.graph_objects as go
from plotly.offline import iplot, init_notebook_mode
init_notebook_mode()

import pandas as pd
import copy

z_data = pd.read_csv(‘https://raw.githubusercontent.com/rogomichael/plotpl/master/trial.csv’)
z2_data = pd.read_csv(‘https://raw.githubusercontent.com/rogomichael/plotpl/master/set2.csv’)
#surfacecolor = copy.deepcopy(z2_data)
#surfacecolor[2][2] = 0
fig = go.Figure(data=[
go.Surface(
x = [-5,-4,-3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3,4,5],
y = [-4,-3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3,4,5,6],
z=z2_data,
colorscale = ‘reds’,
opacity = 1,
#colorscale=‘Electric’,
#surfacecolor=surfacecolor,
showscale=False),
go.Surface(
x = [-5,-4,-3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3,4,5],
y = [-4,-3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3,4,5,6],
z=z_data.values,
#colorscale=‘aggrnyl’,
colorscale = ‘greens’,
opacity = 1,
#colorscale = [[0, ‘green’], [-0.5, ‘red’], [-1.0, ‘rgb(0, 0, 255)’]],
showscale=False)])

fig.update_layout(title=‘ch3_ci’,
scene ={“xaxis”:{“title”: “g/NAC [Angs]”},
“yaxis”:{“title”: “h/GD [Angs]”},
“zaxis”:{“title”: “energy/eV”}},
autosize=True,
width=950, height=950,
margin=dict(l=65, r=50, b=65, t=120))

#fig.show()
iplot(fig, image=‘svg’, filename=‘ch3_plot.svg’)

Hi @rogomichael,

The Plotly surfaces reveal very well their geometry that’s why I wouldn’t draw wireframes to get them looking like matlab surfaces . There is no trace designed specially for wireframes, but we could define the transversal lines onto the surface as Scatter3d lines:

import numpy as np
import plotly.graph_objects as go

x = np.linspace(-1,1, 50)
y = np.linspace(-1,3, 100)
x, y = np.meshgrid(x,y)

z = x**3-3*y*x+1  # the surface eqn

fig = go.Figure()
fig.add_surface(x=x, y=y, z=z, colorscale='Reds_r', colorbar_thickness=25, colorbar_len=0.75);