Data frame and codes needed to get a plotly sunburst chart

I got this EXCEL data frame, intended to build a sunburst chart using plotly. EXCEL data frame intended to get a sunburst chart

I am just new with plotly, and I never tried before to get a sunburst chart.

There’s no way I can get the expected sunburst, but plotly online is giving me no error message, neither anything strange seems to happen: the chart just and simply doesn’t show up, and I don’t know if maybe the data frame wasn’t properly built… I really don’t know, but it would be very helpful if anybody could give me a hand on this matter. Thanks all.

Hi @bernatsn and welcome to the forum! Your dataframe should include one line per sector of the sunburst, not only for the outer ring but also for the different levels of the hierarchy (ie you should add a line for “LOGISTICS - Ingridients” etc.). All the names of the “parents” should have their own line, except for the top level corresponding to an id of "" (see for example https://plot.ly/python/sunburst-charts/).

Since we realize that it can be cumbersome to build the arrays for ids and parents we are currently working on a different API which would accept tables such as the one you linked to. Please stay tuned, and in the meantime I hope the doc examples and what I wrote will be enough so that you can plot your sunburst charts!

Hello Emmanuelle, and first of all thanks so much for your kindness and availability!!!

I think I understood what you mean, so I tried to manipulate my data frame this way:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/7sllatipu75slt6/cr_%20changed.xlsx?dl=0

I tried to get the chart both ways so from Plotly site, and from rstudio, running this command:

library(plotly)

plot_ly(cr, ids=cr$ids, labels=cr$labels,

parents=cr$parents, values=cr$values, type=‘sunburst’,

branchvalues = ‘total’)

:frowning: no way, I am sorry, but again, no error message and nothing out of order, but simply no chart…