Bring Drag & Drop to Dash with Dashboard Engine. 💫 Learn how at our next webinar!

Custom local JavaScript scroll events?

I’m working on a Dash app native in python and trying to add custom javascript locally, but having trouble figuring out how to get it to load. I’m a bit of a novice here, but couldn’t find anyone addressing this anywhere.

Specifically, I’m looking to add a standard function to add a .sticky class to my page header on a scroll event (specifically to add a drop shadow after scrolling).

I’ve read the documentation, which led me to understand that loading local javascript files was as simple as adding .js files with your desired script to the “assets/” folder. I’ve followed this protocol with CSS files successfully.

To that end, I’ve add a file “base-javascript.js” to my assets folder with the following script:

window.onscroll = function() {stickyHeaderStyling()};

var header = document.getElementById("app-page-header");
var sticky = header.offsetTop;

function stickyHeaderStyling() {
  if (window.pageYOffset > sticky) {
    header.classList.add("sticky");
  } else {
    header.classList.remove("sticky");
  }
}

I separately have the following in a .css file within the same location:

#app-page-header {
    width: 100% !important;
    height: 60px !important;
    position: fixed !important;
    top: 0px;
    left: 0px;
    z-index: 1;
}

#app-page-header.sticky {
    border-bottom: .0625rem solid #f4f3f3;
    box-shadow: 0 0.375rem 0.9375rem 0 rgba(26,22,40,.1);
}

All of my other styling is working, but I’m not able to get the .sticky class to be applied as intended on scroll events. My guess is that I need to include a callback to trigger my javascript function or something, but am a bit lost here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Bumping here - anyone able to help point me in the right direction? I’ve searched everywhere but can’t find anything that works.